I bet it has something to do with all those vampire books I’ve secretly read.

July 20, 2010

The other day, I was regaling a friend with a story of the previous night, a rather atypical evening riddled with Aura’s 10 and 11 p.m. wake-ups and then her sudden bout of midnight-timed chatter. “Oh, you poor thing,” the other mother said when I finished. “You must be so tired, not having gone to bed until after midnight!”

Since I have never been one to turn down free pity, I simply nodded, trying my best for the expression all those subjects in medieval martyr paintings have, that half-smile/half-grimace that makes you really wish you named your kid Joan of Arc instead of Aura, the goddess of breezes in completely unsaintly and nudity-laden Greek mythology.

Umm…oh yes. My point: I kind of hedged the truth. I was still wide awake when Aura woke up for the umpteenth time at midnight, probably tooling around on my laptop or contemplating the wisdom of buying black matte flatware.

Nice? Pretentious? Capable of showing every scratch? I'm all for advice.

That’s because I’m almost always still awake at midnight. I love the night, and always have. This wasn’t an easy thing to manage growing up, especially with a chirpy morning-person mother who was a firm believer in a Good Night’s Sleep, Especially If You Want to Do Well Enough in High School to Get into a Good College.  But once I arrived at the promised Good College (okay, so thanks, Mom), I indulged. Strolls around campus at eleven at night, forays to the university library at two in the morning, impromptu rides for pancakes hours after midnight…the darker, the better.

And it’s still that way. While I was pregnant, I harbored a gnawing fear that I’d have to change, that becoming a mother would mean that I would finally have to give up late nights, in favor of earlier mornings. Yet that hasn’t quite happened. Sure, Aura goes through phases when she’s rising near dawn, but they’re rare. I realize this is in large part because we have trained her to go to bed a bit later than her peers and therefore also wake up a bit later. And I know it won’t last forever, especially once kindergarten begins. But for now I’m thankful to still have my favorite part of the 24 hours, when the sun finally sinks out of sight and the night stretches before me, complete and thick and somehow full of more possibility than the day ever was.

I just hope Aura is better at surviving fewer than eight hours of sleep than I am. If not, I have a feeling we’ll be having the Good College talk sooner than later. But you better believe we’ll have it at night.

13 Responses to “I bet it has something to do with all those vampire books I’ve secretly read.”

  1. Ed Adams Says:

    Black flatware? AWESOME!

  2. KLZ Says:

    Oh, I agree.

    Other people are so awake during the day.

    I’m a big fan of the flatware…although the could be scratch prone. Are they dishwasher safe?

  3. Surferwife Says:

    hmmm. I don’t think I am a fan of the black. It’s too mod for me.

    Thank God you stay up late. That way I can talk to you on Twitter when it’s 9pm here.

  4. Kate Says:

    Heart of darkness flatware? The jury is still out….


  5. Dude. Yes. I know moms that are in bed by EIGHT. And I’m all, “Uh, how am I supposed to watch my shows and write my blog posts if I go to bed directly after the children?”
    That’s MY time. My ALONE time. If it means I need 53092 cups of coffee the next day, so be it.
    Totally. Worth. It.


  6. Oh and also? No matte flatware. That’s just asking for disappointment.

  7. Tracie Says:

    I would love to be up late at night but I can’t because my kids just don’t sleep in. I’m a bear when I’m sleep deprived.

    PS Love the look of the flatware but it’s not practical.

  8. blueviolet Says:

    I start drifting off at 8pm if I sit still…

  9. Salt Says:

    That flatware is gorgeous and I want it. Not pretentious at all.
    I am a nighttime person as well. Normally I don’t go to sleep until around 1am. And then I’m up at 7am and I’m fine.

    I’ve found I don’t need that much sleep to function. This will probably come in handy when I have a kid.

  10. Taryn Says:

    I am a night owl too. I’ve just started getting up before 10 AM most days. I have no idea how people go to bed at 10 PM. And morning people really are an annoying species that should be rounded up and kept in pens or something.


  11. Not convinced about the black flatware. Don’t ask if you don’t want honesty.

    I also love to be up late at night – but only when my Hubby isn’t around. I like to tuck the boys in, and then do whatever the heck I want on my own. Somehow, him being there ruins the fun. Could this require some maritial therapy?

  12. TJ Says:

    you said what I feel- perfectly! And it is awesome to know that there are other parents who don’t follow the 7 to bed, 7 awake rule. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but Bear’s more of a 9pm-later morning kind of sleeper and we love it that way!

  13. TJ Says:

    PS- hope you had such a fun time in my neck of the woods this weekend! We have had company since Thursday, so I’m only getting to this now, but fun you were here. I live in Southern Vermont- where out the windows it looks to be raining- hope you didn’t have that!!!!!


Leave a comment